What to expect for 2014

So for the last few months, I’ve been neglecting the blog. It just hasn’t been as … focused … as I’d like it to be. So we’re trying something new this year. And since this begins the first full week of the new year, it’s as good a time as any to start. The blog will update three times a week: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Here’s what you can expect on each of those days:

Mondays: A hodgepodge. This might be a book review, or thoughts on fiction I’m working on. It might be funny stories from life, or notes on stories I want to write. I might even announce personal news on days like today. You’ll never know. It’ll be a surprise to you, and sometimes to me as well.

Wednesdays: Oh ho. Now we’re getting into the fun part. At least once a month, I’m going to publish a new short story. I did it last week, on Jan. 1, just to kick the new year off right. But for the first few weeks, we’re going to have a new short story EVERY WEEK. Who says I’m not ambitious? The reason behind this schedule is threefold: 1) New, exclusive content is important to the life of any blog; 2) It’ll get me back into the habit of writing fiction every day, which is something I need to resume; and 3) I like to write and share stories. So there. If I become too focused on writing a novel that I can’t continue a weekly pace, the new story every month rule will still stand. Once the pace slows, Wednesdays will still be dedicated to exploring the art of fiction in some way or another.

And finally, Fridays: Author interviews. I’m very fortunate that I have some really good friends who have been published, are being published, or are self-publishing with degrees of success. I’m hoping to use some of my journalism experience/prowess to really explore interesting aspects of writing (as well as allow them to promote their work). For the first three months of 2014, I’m going to be interviewing novelists and exploring what traits, if any, they have in common. I may have to revisit this feature after the first three months, but I’m hoping to line up more and more authors as the year progresses.

Anyway, those are the details on the revamped bobthewriter.com. See you back on Wednesday, when I’ll share a creepy little story called “Daddy’s Girl.”

Leave a Reply

