I love it when a plan comes together

Much like Col. Hannibal Smith of TV’s The A-Team, I do love it when a plan comes together. And so far this new writing plan has come together in a big way. Starting Thursday (who starts anything on a Thursday? Really?), I hit 2,000 words in two hours.

This morning I hit 2,000 words in about an hour-and-a-half. Okay, so I was buoyed by two cups of really fine Kona coffee, but I knocked those bad boys OUT, bitches.  That’s four thousand words in two days — after a drought of I don’t wanna say how long. And more importantly, I’ve got the desire to write more.

The plan has been pretty simple. Up at 8 (at the latest). Coffee and an hour to goof off (usually watching a TV show on DVR). At 9 a.m., I’m poised in front of the keyboard, ready to lash out. By 11 a.m., I’m done. Or at least I’m finishing up.

A key component in this plan is that my wife takes the wireless router with her to work in the mornings. I couldn’t sit and watch TV all day. It feels too passive. But because the Interwebs are so interactive, I can get lost on there for hours. This plan takes away a huge distraction and enables me to concentrate. Love it.

I’d also be remiss if I didn’t thank a couple of truly beautiful people for their part in this plan: Angi Black and Anne-Mhairi Simpson, for reading the WIP and being demanding about seeing more. (Sarah Blair would’ve done it, but she doesn’t love me that much. Yet.) Reminds me: I need to send them today’s pages. They’re seeing my stuff in (very) rough draft, and they haven’t run away screaming just yet. Maybe tomorrow, since today’s pages are disturbing as all get-out.

I need that accountability — that sense of expectation from people I know, and like, and respect. They’re expecting to see pages from me. It makes it so much more likely that I’ll produce them.

This weekend will be a huge test, though. I’ve got responsibilities around the house and with my son. I’m going to have to be very strict about sitting down to make myself write — and I may have to change my schedule around to get those words onto the page. But I can do it, if I really want to. And it won’t take that long, as evidenced by the past two days.

I can get this done. I really can.

And now, a few random thoughts:

-I appreciate my writing friends so, SO much. The published and the unpublished. The commercially published and the great unwashed self-pubbers. I was thinking about this the other day, and I really do know so many talented people, and it’s a real joy to be able to learn from, laugh with (or at), celebrate, cry, bitch or scream with (or at) them, as necessary.

-When I’m writing, I’m a genuinely happier human being. The words are flowing, and I’m smiling. I’m also able to tackle some other life issues a little easier. I’m down at least ten pounds, and my waist is small enough that I’m fitting into the smallest pair of jeans i have. Now, the smallest pair I have is still pretty large, but I wasn’t able to really wear them comfortably. It’s nice to see some progress on the weight-loss front.

-Much like writing, I think self-discipline is the key to weight-loss. I’m trying to stop looking at food as a reward or as a comfort. Food, at its base level = fuel for the machine that is your body. It’s a good thing to remember.

-My Dad had surgery on a malignant melanoma near his left temple. All signs point to the surgery being a success, and I’m glad. I want my Dad to be able to teach Noah how to fish. Those are memories my boy will treasure for a lifetime, even if he doesn’t know it at the time.

-I have to tend bar tonight while a bunch of my guy friends hang out celebrating my buddy Michael King’s birthday.

And that’s all that’s on my mind today. Have a good weekend, peeps.

2 thoughts on “I love it when a plan comes together

  1. Pshht!!! Kinda hard to make requests when you’re so busy NOT being on the interwebz that I don’t even know it exists… *aghem*
    Consider this a FORMAL REQUEST FOR PAGES.

    • HEY! I wash everyday dammit. As far as the weekend goes, don’t be so hard on yourself if it doesn’t go as well as you expect. Everyone needs time off otherwise we burn out. That’s not to say you shouldn’t try to keep it up and write even then, but if other things get in the way for those two days, that doesn’t make you a failure of any sort. Just keep that in mind and keep up the good work 😀

Leave a Reply

