Slice of life

My son is sick this week. He’s got hand, foot & mouth virus, which I keep trying to call hoof & mouth disease. I doubt my wife will be amused by that, but I can’t help it.

Misty and I celebrated our three-year anniversary Wednesday, which was a lot of fun. We went to a fine dining restaurant that wasn’t, and then sort of rehashed our first “real” date with a couple of games of bowling and some air hockey. I’d like to say I let her win, but the old man ain’t what he used to be.

With the virus, Noah has been out of daycare all week. I don’t feel like I can get anything done when he’s awake (other than watch him play and make sure he’s not mortally wounding himself). Then when he naps, I feel like I have to sleep, too — have to be rested for the nights I work. It’s made for an exhausting week, for sure.

On the plus side, I got three new Donald Westlake releases (almost a month early!), and so far they’re great. My reading for the week/weekend is set.

And I’ve done something odd that’s never happened before. I came up with a character that I really like. He’s fully formed in my head, and it’s amazing. The “never happened before” part is this: I don’t have anything for him to do. Nothing. Nada. Zilch. Maybe it’s just because I’m brain-dead this week from being the primary caretaker for the kid.

I hope that’s all it is.

And now, as long as the kid’s napping, I think I’m gonna go rest some too.

 

Leave a Reply

