Goals for 2012

Aaaaaand we’re back. Yes, I’m doing the oh-so-original “goals of the new year” post. But these goals are good things. I want 2012 to be my breakout year as far as writing goes, and these goals are going to help me do that. It’s also going to be a really fun, intense time here at bobthewriter.com, because I’ve got big, big plans for the site.

So without further ado, here’s the list of writing-related goals for the year:

1) Revise and edit my YA manuscript, Little Miss Perfect, into something salable and seek representation for it.

2) Complete the first draft of my gritty urban fantasy, Legion. (Hey, I’m already 10K words in!)

3) Complete the first draft of my end-of-Prohibition-era crime novel, The Antioch Curve. (I’m 22K words into this one!)

4) Write 2,000 words EVERY DAY. (This is one I expect to have some trouble keeping, but I’m damn sure gonna try. You realize if I hit this goal, I’ll have written 730,000 words in a year. Freaky.)

5) Update this site three times a week–Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays–and I’m SO pumped for some things on the horizon! Author interviews, book giveaways. You don’t even KNOW! 😀

6) Write six new short stories for the site.

7) Gain 100 new Twitter followers. And I mean quality followers, not spambots or Triberr users. (Aren’t they the same thing? Kidding, kidding!)

8) Attend one writing conference.

9) Get one of my current WIPs ready to query. And query!

10) Land an agent. (Yeah, I have less control over this, but I’m going to put more work into this than I’ve ever done before. It can be done!)

Is this an ambitious list? Absolutely. But I’m an ambitious writer. I want my work out there for people to see, so this is the year. Head down, eye on the ball.

Bring it, 2012.

Next up: Wednesday, I review an atrocity of a novel I received for Christmas. Trust me when I tell you that you won’t want to miss this one.

Leave a Reply

