My sangria recipe

I promised some people on Twitter that I’d share my recipe for sangria. Understand, however, that I don’t exactly use recipes. I cook much like I write: If it feels right, I go with it, and I reserve the right to change things up on the fly if I feel like it.

What you’ll need:

-1 bottle of inexpensive red wine
-1 orange
-1 lemon
-1 lime
-1 apple
-1/4 a cup of sugar
-1 bottle of brandy
-1 2-liter bottle of 7-Up, Sprite or Ginger Ale

Pour the bottle of wine into a pitcher and let it breathe while you slice the fruit. Put the sliced orange, lemon, and lime into the wine while preserving the end pieces of the fruit. Squeeze the juice from those pieces into the wine, then discard them.

Dump the apple slices into the mixture, and then pour one liter of whatever carbonated beverage you chose into the pitcher. Stir. Taste it. (Fun, huh?) If it tastes okay to you, you can disregard everything else I’m about to write.

Okay, now that the wusses are gone: Grab your bottle of brandy. Try not to sing “Brandy, you’re a fine girl” while adding several slugs (four to five ounces) of brandy to the pitcher. Stir. Taste. If you can still see, add another slug of brandy.

Taste it again. Now, that’s not so bad, is it?

Next step: Stop tongue-kissing that random stranger and put your shirt back on. After that, add about 1/8 of a cup of sugar. Stir. Taste it again. If it’s sweet enough for your taste, you can stop here.

If it’s not sweet enough, add the rest of the sugar and stir. Taste again.

Put it in the fridge for 24 hours before serving, if you can keep your hands off of it. Guaranteed party pleaser.

That’s the recipe. Hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

