Yikes! You guys! (The Friday Five)

So, uh — it’s been quite busy around here, even though I haven’t been very active on the site. Thanks to the people over at Fark who always seem to make Halloween my biggest day by far. They broke my all-time traffic record here at the site by clicking on a couple of my horror stories. Seriously, thanks to everyone who came by to visit.

On that note, here’s why I haven’t written a whole lot: NaNoWriMo is taking up almost all of my creativity/spare time. Between the baby and the wifey and the new novel-in-progress, I haven’t had a ton of time.

Anyway, on to the new tradition here at http://bobthewriter.com, the Friday Five: five things to see/do/watch/read, etc. this weekend. This weekend’s list is pretty easy, and it mostly revolves around the BIGGEST. GAME. EVER!!!!1!!111!!1!! For the uninitiated, that’s Alabama vs. LSU in Bryant-Denny Stadium on Saturday. Like any sane person, I’m staying the hell away from downtown Tuscaloosa, which is a nightmare on normal game days, and will look something like a scene from Dante’s Inferno by the time gametime rolls around on Saturday.

Watch: Obviously, Alabama vs. LSU on CBS at 7 p.m. My lovely wife, Misty, and I will be driving from Tuscaloosa to Birmingham to watch the game with friends and grill out. My prediction? Let’s pretend I’m Mr. T from Rocky III: “Prediction? Pain.” I think these teams are so evenly matched that we’re in for a heck of a game Saturday. I’m hoping Alabama wins, but if LSU manages to triumph, I hope they win out and that there’s a rematch in the BCS title game.

Do: Make sangria! That’s my contribution to cooking out on Saturday. A well-made sangria can put you right in the mood. To do it, that is. And by do it I mean knock boots. And by knock boots I mean you know, do it. If anyone is still wondering, I mean have sexual innnnnnnnntercourse. So nine months from Saturday, maybe Noah will have a little brother or sister.

Read: I want to finish up Dancing Aztecs by Donald Westlake. Possibly the funniest novel I’ve ever read, and it led to an embarrassing situation at work earlier this week. I’ll try to get a review up on Monday or Tuesday, including the gory details of how I embarrassed myself.

Listen: When you get tired of hearing Vern Lundquist and Gary Danielson butcher the Alabama-LSU game (and make no mistake, they will), turn your radio to the Alabama Crimson Tide Radio Network and listen to Eli Gold. Since Larry Munson stepped down at Georgia, Eli Gold is the, well, gold standard of college football announcers in the best conference in the country.

Put up with: All your friends who have to say I-told-you-so when the team you picked didn’t win on Saturday. Regardless of who wins on Saturday, I hope you all have a great weekend. Roll Tide and stay safe.

Leave a Reply

