Antisocial media

I’m taking a break from social media for the month of September. No Facebook. No Twitter. No status updates. No follow Fridays.

The irony that you’re probably reading this because my FB and Twitter automatically update my blog posts is not lost on me, by the way.

I don’t have anything at all against social media. In fact, I really, REALLY enjoy interacting with friends through social media websites. I enjoy it enough that it gets to be a distraction for me. I waste hours when I should be doing other things. Like right now, I should be re-drafting my first YA attempt, a novel I’m calling Little Miss Perfect. Instead, it’s easier for me to chat or make funny remarks on people’s status or photos.

At the end of the day, if you’re going to be a writer you have to do one thing: WRITE. I don’t do enough of that. I want to focus on my work–my real work, as opposed to my day job. I write because it fulfills me. Writing, for me, is a feast. Social media interaction fills me up, too, but it’s like the difference between eating a healthy, balanced meal or gorging on a 5-lb. bag of M&Ms. One is good for you and leaves you feeling satisfied. The other fills you up, sure. But you feel a little sick afterward. Or a lot sick. Your mileage. It may vary.

I’m tired of feeling a little sick about the time I’ve wasted. So no social media for me. Not for awhile. I need to get to the real work. It’s time to write.

2 thoughts on “Antisocial media

  1. Good for you! It’s not an easy task to step away from something so enticing. I admit, I’m addicted to my social media…but I’m proud of you for making the craft your priority. I look forward to tweeting with you again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

