Rise and grind

By the time you read this, I’ll probably be on my way to Birmingham, AL, to visit doctors in my day job as PR Guy Extraordinaire. But right now it’s late Sunday night, and I’m finally feeling a little better after battling a migraine for most of Sunday.

Monday is the day to rise and grind, to get to work on the manuscript for the novel formerly known as Twisted. I’m shooting for 25,000 words by the end of the day on Friday — a unique challenge, as always, because I’ll be sitting in doctor’s offices for most of the time that I write. During that time, I’ll also field calls, approve ads, make appointments for other visits.

In some ways, writing is the easy part. Making time for it is tough.

But success doesn’t come automatically. Former University of Alabama running back Mark Ingram was the first guy I ever heard use the term “rise and grind” — and he was relating it to offseason workouts prior to starting his NFL career with the New Orleans Saints. But I immediately got his point: It’s a new day. Get to work. I’m a better writer than I was yesterday. And the day before that. And the day … well, you get what I mean.

The more I work, the better I get. To reach the potential I have, I’ve got to be willing to put in the effort.

Bring it on.

2 thoughts on “Rise and grind

  1. Is there a term for the stay up late and grind? Something not rated XXX? Because I am not a morning person, but I do my best writing late at night. If only I could hit a Starbucks at 1am, grab a white chocolate mocha latte and sit on my laptop writing away…I’d be happy. But no, I have to stay home, tucked into my sofa with the dog drooling on my lap while I write. Good luck at the doctor, and best of luck hitting 25k by the end of the week. That’s an awesome goal I should set for myself. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

