Books and fatherhood

I’m typing this up, surreptitiously using the free wifi in a physician’s office while I wait to do my day job.

Fun times, right?

So, as reported in my last post, I’m a father. Wow. What the heck was I thinking? Who IS this new being who eats and eats and eats and then poops everywhere? We could’ve gotten another dog. Seriously.

No, not seriously. My son is great. He’s beautiful. He’s sweet. And he cries like a banshee if you’re late feeding him. No lie. I can’t believe the set of lungs on that kid. His mother and I may one day get to sleep through the night again, but I’m not sure when that will be. Every cliche about the early days of parenthood is completely and utterly true.

We’re bone-tired. We’re stressed about how much the baby eats and poops and pees. We don’t sleep. We forget to eat sometimes because we’re concerned with the baby. And the number of daily showers in our household has declined alarmingly. Every day is a new adventure in the bodily functions of our child. If it’s not scatology, it’s urology. If it’s not spit-up, it’s throw-up.

It really is amazing that humans reproduce at all.

On the other hand, it is incredibly worth it. When I see that little guy with his perfect nose, chubby cheeks, pretty eyes and cleft chin, I realize that my boy is going to be a heartbreaker someday. Good for him.

My wife and I planned this pregnancy, as much as you can plan anything. We knew we wanted to add to our family, and now that addition has arrived. But you know what they say about plans. Ours went agley (if you don’t mind a little literary allusion) from the very first. We’ve realized something very quickly: A plan is a great and wonderful thing. But as a parent, you have to be flexible, to go with the flow of things. You have to understand that not everything is going to be perfect.

And while I was holding my son last night I got to thinking that I would be able to introduce him to the world of books. I’ll get to show him my favorite writers and talk about their work with him. I don’t know if the kid will love books as much as I do, but I plan on giving it my best shot.

As I think over my book collection, I’m just not sure the best place to start. Ah well. I’ve got time yet.

Leave a Reply

