Long time

I know, I know. I’ve been neglecting the blog for a while. More than a month.

Sorry about that, but you know how it is — life gets in the way. At least every once in awhile. Something I haven’t really talked about: the wife and I are having a baby (our first!). So the planning and excitement is really running over in the Mathews household. We’re naming him Noah Oliver, after my grandfathers. More after the jump.It’s a little crazy to think that at the tender young age of 30-something (gulp! am I really that old??), I’m about to be a first-time dad. I’m sure there will be a ton of stuff I am unprepared for. But I’m really looking forward to this. A baby! I’ve always wanted to be a father, and my closest friends (the ones who really know me and know my history) understand why.

Of course, my wife is the real trouper in the family. She’s gone through the spastic emotional roller coaster and the swelling belly and the ultrasounds and the doctor appointments and the tests and the general discomfort. And she’s done it without complaining. Well, mostly. šŸ˜€ I’m proud of her.

I’m also scared to death. What the heck do I know about raising a kid?

Regardless, I’d better learn in a hurry. Noah’s going to be here soon!

1 thought on “Long time

  1. Congratulations to you and your wife during this beautiful and exciting chapter in your lives. You are in luck, the first year is all about love and enjoying the little milestones. My only advice, try not to wish for the next phase. Stay in the moment, enjoy the little toes and new discoveries. For year 2, 3 and 16,repeat, add consistency and a unified front and you will be great parents. Promise. After they are 16, I don’t know, that’s where I am.

Leave a comment