under the weather

Been a rough few days for me, physically. I battle gout, and every few months it takes me out of business for a few days. The pain is about as intense as a broken bone, but it simply doesn’t stop. More than a bit annoying.

But I’ve got to get back to work on the manuscript, and looking at some feedback from my first readers, I think there are at least two chapters I have to add — just to add a layer of depth to the drama/tension/conflict. Some of the reactions aren’t quite what I want, so I have to really work on them. I’ve been complimented repeatedly on the dialogue, but I also see places there that I can tighten up.

Working on the manuscript now is kind of in that fun place where I’ve got everything stripped back and can see all the moving parts. Completing this thing to my satisfaction is going to be difficult, but I also know it’s going to be worth it in the end.

And as promised, I’ll have a new short story up, a little thing called Room for an Hour. Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

