Hodgepodge

It’s been awhile, hasn’t it?

Can I still get away with blaming the holidays? I hope so. If not, I’ll just say that I spent a lot of time writing furiously on the novel manuscript (partially true), enjoying some good books (very true) and sort of getting caught up in the overall Christmas-New Year holiday daze (again, very true).

A quick note on the manuscript: I’m about 60,000 words in. The middle part of the book is probably the toughest to write, at least for me. This is the point where inertia tries to take over, and you slog through, trying to keep the story moving forward. Maintaining that forward momentum in the story is so hard. And yet so worth it when it works.

I’ve been reading a great deal lately. Got several new books for Christmas, all by my idol at the keyboard, Donald Westlake. None of them were originally written under his name, though. It’s one of the things that makes Westlake so interesting to me. He was so prolific, writing under literally a dozen names at one point in his career. And all of his stuff is good. Expect a full entry on the books at a later date. I’ve got some issues with the editing/publishing process for those books.

Overall, good holidays. I’ll start back to work on the manuscript in earnest tomorrow. The middle of the book is, again, pivotal. You can lose it so easily here, let the story and your characters drown in the black hole of your thoughts. Gotta keep that from happening.

Leave a Reply

