boom

Ever have an idea just drop into your head, full and whole? It’s kind of like having a tactical nuke go off in your brain. Last night at work, I had the next two chapters of the novel simply drop into my head … and that made my night. So basically, I knew what the next 10-15 pages of manuscript were going to look like.

Of course, then comes the hard part, where you see a scene in your head and need to translate it to the page. I think I was fairly successful with that today, but it took longer than I would have liked. I’ve described the novel to friends who’ve asked about it as “the world’s screwiest love story.” Not meaning that there’s a Guinness-record level of screwing (though there is some), but that the star-crossed lovers are very messed up. Each has his and her own pathologies (kind of like real life), and I like that. I don’t know that they’ll end up together in the end or not. But I know the ride is fun.

Also, I’ve kind of realized this novel is going to be fairly short. I’ve recently passed 20,000 words, and I think I’m going to be able to wrap it up in about 80,000 words. Usually I shoot for 100,000 words for a novel, but this story doesn’t seem like it’s going to take that long. Of course, I do have a subplot to work in, so we’ll see.

One thought on “boom

Leave a Reply

